The answer is Yes. Virginia has strict driving laws, and believe it or not, you can possibly go to jail for reckless driving, even just for speeding.
A charge of reckless driving by speed means that the police officer observed your vehicle traveling in excess of (a) 20 miles per hour over the speed limit, or (2) greater than 80 miles per hour. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which means it carries a potential penalty of 12 months in jail and/or a $2,500 fine.
The posted speed limit on some Virginia highways, including Interstate 81 by Salem, Virginia, is 70 miles per hour. That means you could potentially go to jail just for driving 10 mph over the speed limit. Whether the judge will assess a fine, a jail sentence, or both, depends on how fast you were going, your driving record, and other factors.
So before you decide that reckless driving is just another traffic ticket, think again – it’s not. The best thing you can do is contact an attorney in Virginia who has experience handling reckless driving cases to make sure you get the best possible outcome.