Yes, you can do jail time in Virginia for driving over 80 mph. Under Virginia law, driving at a rate of speed in excess of 80 mph is considered “reckless driving.”
Reckless driving is more than just a traffic ticket. Reckless driving by speed is considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia and carries a punishment up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine up to $2,500. In other words, it is a serious offense with potentially dire consequences.
The law applies to in-state and out-of-state drivers. Even if your state allows you to drive 80 mph on certain highways, or the speed of 80 mph or over is punishable only as traffic offense, out-of-state drivers can still be found guilty of reckless driving under Virginia law.
Even though reckless driving may carry a significant punishment, most cases can be resolved without jail time. Our firm regularly assists individuals who have been charged with reckless driving by speaking with the prosecutor, reviewing the evidence with the officer, and working to obtain a favorable result so that you do not even have to go come to court.
We would be glad to review your case and discuss your options with you. For more information, please feel free to contact our firm.